RSS Feed

Crying x2

I feel like my parents have really taken away my ability to have a satisfying cry. I hear other people say how crying can be a release.

Not in my experience. I know I probably feel this way because my parents used to punish me for crying. But that doesn’t make me able to stop beating myself up for it.

I feel like I am weak when I cry. I feel idiotic and childish. I feel like a total wuss that can’t manage my own emotions. I feel like I am not a grown up.

So not only am I upset about whatever is making me cry. But I am totally beating myself up the entire time.

I usually feel even worse if I am crying in front of someone else. I feel like they are thinking the same thing I am thinking about myself. Even when I know they aren’t. Even though I don’t think those things about someone else when they cry in front of me.

I also beat myself up because I never think my issues are ‘bad’ enough. It’s an issue I have also discussed with my therapist. Like, maybe I don’t have ‘enough’ problems to need therapy. Or bad enough problems. And that I am just kidding myself. But my therapist has assured me that my issues are very real and bad. So that’s good. I guess.

I rarely cried at all in the past 20 years. Like, less than 20 times. Even through losing friends, getting a divorce, being abused, being raped, having surgeries, and facing my own death. And I could barely cry.

I’m starting to think that this was one of the worst things my parents ever did to me. Denying me the ability to cry. To express my emotions. To feel the release of tears. Even now, when I actually can cry.

2 responses »

  1. I agree. They should have allowed you to cry! Telling your kid to not cry is like forbidding your body to not sweat while running. It’s a physiological process (not just an emotional one). It releases toxins and salts which help to restore balance and homeostasis in the body.

    Yeah, they totally should have allowed you to cry.
    Think about this: kids are always happy and laughing and running and playing. They forgive really easily too. They make up quickly. And, they cry often. I think there’s a connection between all of that. ;0)

    Reply
    • Me too. Everyone should be allowed to cry. Even men. It is a great disservice to tell someone that their emotions are bad or wrong. Especially when discussing something like crying.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

