RSS Feed

Perfection

This book I read about anorexia not only linked extreme pickiness to eating disorders, but also extremely healthy eating and food exclusion. For example, only eating organic foods, raw food-ism, vegetarianism, vegan-ism. All of these things can be an expression of an eating disorder. And I’ve tried all of them.

I think food exclusion is a big one for me. It’s easy to practice until I am eating nothing but cereal and apples for weeks at a time. And it’s something I need to watch for. Nothing is so healthy that I should be eating it exclusively.

It’s strange how my food disorder doesn’t seem to be related to my weight. At least, it wasn’t back then. Maybe because I had always been thin I didn’t have to obsess over it. I could obsess over the control angle instead, which I’ll get to.

I never consciously remember wanting to be thin. In fact, I complained about it and acted like I didn’t know why I was so thin. I always claimed to want to gain weight. But I didn’t eat, or behave in a way that would have allowed that to happen.

But now that I have gained weight I am obsessed with being thin again. And, in my own mind, a thin woman is judged much more leniently than overweight women. Not just in regards to appearance, either.

I can really see the connection between eating disorders, control, and perfectionism. I feel like I can never forgive myself for not being perfect. I beat myself up over every detail of every thing I have failed every single day.

I do the same thing to other people in my life too. I expect perfection from myself and others. Even while I am saying I don’t. I do. I have such a hard time forgiving people for disappointing me. For not living up to my expectations. For not being perfect. Myself included.

It’s exhausting. I don’t want to spend my nights going over my mistakes in minute detail. I don’t know why it’s so hard to be compassionate towards myself. I still think perfection is attainable by me.

I can also see that I haven’t made much progress of the control aspect of all this. I only feel safe if I am in control of everything. I want to be able to relax. But I can’t. I want to not care about everything so much. But I do. I want to be able to trust someone to do as good as job as I think I do. But I don’t.

I still think my way is the best way. The right way.

6 responses »

  1. I have fought with a lot of these myself – and am still fighting. My family is constantly telling me to gain weight and I try, but nothing comes of it. I have become an expert in food exclusion, to the point where I genuinely don’t like the taste of the excluded foods anymore. I know it is going to be something I always fight with…

    Reply
  2. Hello from a fellow severely picky eater. As a child there were only a few foods I could eat. I also practice rotating exclusion rules usually revolving around veganism and what i consider to be health foods.However, in my case I’ve never been sure if it’s an ED. I don’t have the need for control that I hear described by other people, it’s just that most foods taste disgusting to me. I hope you find peace and resolution!

    Reply
  3. I hit “like” but I don’t necessarily like this– at least the part about striving for perfection and not being able to relax :-/ Just wanted to acknowledge that I’m here, and reading.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

